MauritiusThe Republic of Mauritius

Visited by the Portuguese in 1510 and abortively settled twice by the Dutch, the island was permanently settled by the French in 1721. The British captured the island in 1810 and controlled it until 1968, when it gained its independence, although today it still recognizes Elizabeth II as the Chief of State.

Compiled by Steven G. Johnson