OverviewAcademicsStatisticsOptimizationResearchPeopleStudent ResourcesSeminars & EventsCareer Center
Operations Research Center


Recent Faculty and student Awards and Honors

We are pleased to announce the following recent accomplishments of our Faculty, students, and Alumni.


Itai Ashlagi has been honored with 2nd Place in the 2014 JFIG (Junior Faculty Interest Group) Paper Competition of INFORMS. Itai’s paper, co-authored with Yash Kanoria and Jacob Leshno (both of Columbia Business School), is entitled “Unbalanced Random Matching Markets: The Stark Effect of Competition.”  The competition entries were evaluated based on the importance of the topic, appropriateness of the research approach, and the significance of research contribution.

Erik Brynjolfsson and MIT Initiative on the Digital Economy co-authors Frank MacCrory (Postdoctoral Associate) and George Westerman (Research Scientist), as well as co-author Yousef Alhammadi (Masdar Institute, Abu Dhabi), have won the 2014 International Conference on Information Systems (ICIS) Award for Best Conference Paper.  Their winning paper is entitled, “Racing With and Against the Machine: Changes in Occupational Skill Composition in an Era of Rapid Technological Advance.”

Cynthia Barnhart was awarded an honorary PhD from the École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne - EPFL on October 4, 2014.
The announcement can be found here: http://actu.epfl.ch/news/un-magistral-bravo-aux-872-nouveaux-diplomes-de--5/
[Translation: "honorary doctorate...given to Cynthia Barnhart, for operations research that has had an impact on transportation systems and its ongoing commitment to the scientific community, with particular attention to the promotion of young researchers and women in her capacity as the first female chancellor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)."]

Vivek Farias has won the 2014 Outstanding Simulation Publication Award given by the INFORMS Simulation Society. 
The award recognizes outstanding contributions to the simulation literature in the prior three years (2011-2013).  Vivek’s winning paper (co-authored with Vijay Desai and Ciamac Moallemi, both at Columbia) is entitled “Pathwise Optimization for Optimal Stopping Problems” and was published in Management Science, 58 (12), in 2012.
The award was presented in December in Savannah, Georgia, at the INFORMS Winter Simulation Conference 2014. 
Website: https://www.informs.org/Recognize-Excellence/Community-Prizes-and-Awards/Simulation-Society/Outstanding-Simulation-Publication-Award

Y. Karen Zheng has received a CAREER Award from the National Science Foundation (NSF) for her project entitled “A Closed-Loop Methodology for Investigating Trust, Culture, and Information Sharing in Global Supply Chains.”
CAREER Awards are the NSF’s “most prestigious awards in support of junior faculty who exemplify the role of teacher-scholars through outstanding research, excellent education and the integration of education and research within the context of the mission of their organizations.”


Michael Beeler was awarded a D-Prize for a social enterprise business plan drawing on analytics and operations management principles to deliver quality secondary education in rural areas of developing countries, 2014.
Website: http://www.d-prize.org/#winners


Edward H Kaplan (PhD ’84 Course XI, SM ’82 Course XVIII, SM ’79 Operations Research, MCP ’79 Course XI), the William N and Marie A Beach Professor of Operations Research, Public Health and Engineering at Yale University, has been elected to lead the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS).  With over 11,500 members, INFORMS is the largest association of operations research and analytics professionals in the world.  Kaplan will serve terms as President-Elect in 2015, President in 2016, and Past President in 2017.


Past Awards and Honors are archived here: http://www.mit.edu/~orc/people/awards/

MIT home