HomeOverviewAcademicsResearchPeopleStudent ResourcesSeminars & EventsCareer Center
Operations Research Center







Awards and Honors

- Archive

Skip to content

Honors and Awards 2007-2008

We are delighted to report on a large number of honors and awards received by the MIT operations research community


Hamsa Balakrishnan was the recipient of an NSF CAREER Award, February 2008. She also received the T. Wilson Career Development Chair, Dept. of Aeronautics & Astronautics, July 2007.                         

Arnie Barnett won the Excellence in Teaching Award from the Sloan School for the undergraduate course he taught, 15.075.

Cindy Barnhart received the Roger-Charbonneau Prize for best book published Handbook in Transportation, (with co-editor Gilbert Laporte from HEC Montreal), 2007.

Dimitris Bertsimas became an INFORMS Fellow.

Rob Freund received the Longuet-Higgins Prize of the IEEE Computer Society (for computer vision and pattern recognition).

David Gamarnik will serve as a plenary speaker for The Sixth International Conference on Matrix-Analytic Methods in Stochastic Models (MAM6) Beijing, P. R. China, June 11-14, 2008.

John Hauser was elected as an INFORMS Fellows.  "The Fellow Award recognizes members who have made significant contributions to the advancement of operations research and the management sciences, such contributions including service to the professional field and to INFORMS."

Dick Larson received the honor of being selected to serve as a member of the Institute of Medicine's Board on Health Sciences Policy.

Retsef Levi won the Outstanding Teaching Award from the Sloan School for MBA teaching for 15.760, the core MBA class in Operations Management.

John Little received the honor of "Classic Hit."  A paper by Peter Guadagni and John Little published in 1963 and titled "A Logit Model of Brand Choice Calibrated on Scanner Data," has been reprinted in a "Classic Hits" issue of Marketing Science, January 2008.

Tom Magnanti received an Honorary Doctoral Degree from Technion, June 2007.  In addition, Tom was awarded the Harold Lardner Prize, Canadian Operations Research Society, May 2008.

Jim Orlin was a co-winner of the INFORMS Computing Society Prize for the best publication on the interface of Operations Research and Computer Science 2007.  The winning paper was "On the Sum-of-Squares Algorithm for Bin Packing" co--authored with Janos Csirik, David Johnson, Claire Kenyon, Peter Shor, and Richard Weber.   Jim was also a co-winner of the Leonard G. Abraham Prize, given annually to the best original paper published in IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communications in the past year.  The award is for the paper: "Preconfiguring IP-over-Optical Networks to Handle Router Failures and Unpredictable Traffic", co-authored with Murali Kodialam, T. V. Lakshman, and Sudipta Sengupta.

Asuman Ozdaglar was awarded the 2008 AACC Donald P. Eckman Award.  This award is  "for contributions to optimization theory, game theory and its applications to congested markets, and learning in large networks with applications to human and social networks".

Georgia Perakis and her former PhD student Guillaume Roels (ORC alum) received Honorable Mention for the TSL Best Paper Award for their paper "An Analytical Model for Traffic Delays and the Dynamic User Equilibrium Problem" that appeared in the journal Operations Research 54(6): 1151-1171, November-December 2006. 

Andreas S. Schulz's paper "Efficiency and Fairness of System-Optimal Routing with User Constraints" (with N.E. Stier Moses) received the Glover-Klingman Prize for the best paper published in the journal Networks during the year 2006.  The prize was awarded in 2007. 

John Tsitsiklis became an INFORMS Fellow.


Megan Gaudet received the "New England University Transportation Center Outstanding Student of the Year" awarded by the USDOT on January 12, 2008. This award is in "recognition of Outstanding Achievement in and Contribution to Transportation Research and Education".

Thibault LeGuen received the Robert Guenassia Award from MIT in May 2008. He was also honored "Best French Student in double degree exchange" by Ecole Centrale Paris in December 2007.

Michael Metzger received the Martin Fellowship for Sustainability, September 2007.  Mike also came in 2nd place at the National Academies of Science Graduate Student Conference.  Last but not least, Mike received 2nd place in a poster session at the Department of Homeland Security University Summit.

Karima Nigmatulina was awarded First Place for her presentation at the Student Forum on Science and Technology Policy (organized by the National Academies of Science), January 2008.

Pamela Pei received an honorable mention for MSOM Student Paper Competition, November 2007.

Alex Rikun received an NSF honorable mention, 2008.

Premal Shah received the best student paper award for the FSS (Financial Services Section) at INFORMS, November 2007.

Nelson Uhan received First Place at the INFORMS George Nicholson Student Paper Competition, November 2007.   The George Nicholson Student Paper Competition is held each year to honor outstanding papers in the field of operations research and the management sciences written by a student.



Rajan Batta received the David F. Baker Distinguished Research award from the Institute of Industrial Engineers in May 2008.   This is the highest available research award from IIE.

Timothy Chan received First Place in the INFORMS George B. Dantzig Dissertation Award, November 2007.  The George B. Dantzig Award is given for the best dissertation in any area of operations research and the management sciences that is innovative and relevant to practice.

Thomas M. Cook and Marshall L. Fisher received The George E. Kimball Medal which is awarded for recognition of distinguished service to the Institute and to the profession of operations research and the management sciences. 

Craig Kirkwood received the Frank P. Ramsey Medal which is the highest award of the INFORMS DAS. It was created to recognize distinguished contributions to the field of decision analysis

Edward A. Silver, Sc.D. 1963, was selected in 2007 as the recipient of the Harold Larnder Memorial Prize of the Canadian Operational Research Society. The prize honors individuals for distinguished international achievement in Operational Research.

Melvyn Sim, (NUS) and David Brown (Duke) received First Place in the paper competition for the INFORMS Junior Faculty Interest Group. 

Garrett Van Ryan received a MSOM Distinguished Fellows Awards.

Stefanos A. Zenios (and Chris P. Lee) received the Pierskalla Best Paper Award which recognizes research excellence in the field of health care management science