Skip to content
HomeOverviewAcademicsResearchPeopleStudent ResourcesSeminars & EventsCareer Center
Operations Research Center







Awards and Honors

- Archive

Awards and Honors 2005-2006


Cindy Barnhart was the co-winner of the WORMS Award for the Advancement of Women in OR/MS, in recognition of her contributions towards improving the environment for women in our field, and her own professional success.

Skip to content

Gabriel Bitran received the MSOM Distinguished Service Award.

Oli de Weck was awarded the Frank E. Perkins Award.

Rob Freund received an Award for Excellence in Teaching at the Sloan School.

Michel Goemans was named the Robert E. Collins Distinguished Scholar in the Math Department.

Steve Graves was elected as an INFORMS Fellow. Also, Steve was co-winner of the INFORMS Case Competition.

Dick Larson was named Franz Edelman Laureate.

Pablo Parrilo received the 2005 SIAM Activity Group on Control and Systems Theory (SIAG/CST) Prize, awarded every three years to a young researcher for outstanding research contributions to mathematical control and systems theory.

Devavrat Shah was a co-winner of the George B. Dantzig Dissertation Award, for his thesis entitled "Randomization and Heavy Traffic Theory: New Approaches for Design and Analysis of Switch Algorithms."


Alexandre Belloni was awarded the 2006-2007 IBM Herman Goldstine Postdoctoral Fellowship in Mathematical Sciences.

David Brown, an EECS doctoral student of Dimitris Bertsimas, won the second prize in the George E. Nicholson competition for best student paper.

Tim Chan won the Canadian Operational Research Society Student Paper Competition for his paper "A Robust Approach to IMRT Optimization."

David Czerwinski was awarded Teaching Assistant of the year by the Sloan School.

Ramesh Johari's, an EECS doctoral student of John Tsitsiklis', was the recipient of the INFORMS Best Dissertation Award by the INFORMS Technical Section on Telecommunications.

Juliane Dunkel was awarded an Ida Green Fellowship for graduate studies.

Michael Metzger was awarded Teaching Assistant of the year by the Sloan School.

Guillaume Roels received second prize in the MSOM competition for best student paper for his paper on The Price of Information: Inventory Management with Limited Information About Demand .



Elaine Chew, received the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers in recognition for "her research on performer-centered approaches to computer-assisted music making, and for her efforts to integrate research and education at the intersection of music and engineering.

Marshall L. Fisher received the Philip McCord Morse Lectureship Award.

Garrett van Ryzin and Kalyan T. Talluri received the Frederick W. Lanchester Prize for best contribution to operations research and the management sciences for their book The Theory and Practice of Revenue Management.

Ping Xu received second prize in the MSOM competition for best student paper for her paper on The Benefits of Re-Evaluating the Real-Time Fulfillment Decisions