Skip to content
HomeOverviewAcademicsResearchPeopleStudent ResourcesSeminars & EventsCareer Center
Operations Research Center







Awards and Honors

- Archive

Awards and Honors 2004-2005


Dimitris Bertsimas was elected to the National Academy of Engineering, February 2005. Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded an engineer. Dimitris was recognized for his contributions to optimization theory and stochastic systems and innovative applications in financial engineering and transportation.

In addition, Dimitris was awarded the Gold Medal for Operations Research by the Greek OR Society, July 2004.

Olivier L. de Weck received the Best Paper Award INCOSE 2004 from the 14th Annual International Symposium of the International Council on Systems Engineering, Toulouse, France, June 2004.

John Hauser, James B. Orlin and Michael Yee (PhD student) and Ely Dahan won the EXPLOR award for excellence in online marketing research.

Richard C. Larson was appointed a Mitsui Professor, November 2004.

Amedeo R. Odoni was elected a Fellow of INFORMS, October 2004.

Pablo Parrilo received the 2005 Donald P. Eckmann Award "in recognition to pioneering contributions to the integration of algebraic and numerical techniques as computational tools for the optimization and robustness of control systems." The Donald P. Eckman Award recognizes an outstanding young engineer in the field of automatic control. The recipient must be younger than 35 years on January 1 of the year of award.

Daniela Pucci de Farias received an NSF Career Award, February 2005.

Santosh Vempala was elected as a Guggenheim fellow for the year 2005-2006 for work on "Algorithmic Convex Geometry."

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Alexandre Belloni was awarded an IBM Ph.D. Fellowship (2005-2006).

Timothy Chan received a Student Life Programs Leadership Award. This award is presented to an individual student who went "above and beyond" his or her call of duty as an organization leader, who showed dedication to their organization and to campus life at MIT.

Xuan Vinh Doan received an IHPC-SGI Award for Best Student in High Performance in Computations for Engineered Systems Programme (HPCES) from the SMA/MIT Alliance master's program, July 2004.

Pranava Goundan received a GSC Graduate Teaching Award from the Sloan School of Management, May 2005.

Carine Simon was the recipient of a Robert Guenassia Award, January 2005.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * ** * * *

Amy Mainville Cohn (PhD, 2002) was awarded a Sloan Foundation Industry Fellowship, 2004.

Soulaymane Kachani (PhD, 2002) was awarded the MIT Arab Student Organization's 2005 Science and Technology Award.