Skip to content
HomeOverviewAcademicsResearchPeopleStudent ResourcesSeminars & EventsCareer Center
Operations Research Center







Awards and Honors

- Archive

Awards and Honors 2003-2004


Arnold I. Barnett was named as an INFORMS Fellow, October 2003.

Cynthia Barnhart, Andrew Armacost and K.A. Ware received the TSL Best Paper Award for their paper "Composite Variable Formulations For Express Shipment Service Network Design" October 20, 2003. This award is given by the INFORMS Transportation Science and Logistics Section.

John Paul Clarke received the FAA's prestigious Excellence in Aviation Award, December 2003.

John Hauser, Olivier Toubia, Duncan Simester and Ely Dahan's paper was selected as a finalist for the John D. C. Little Best Paper Award awarded by the INFORMS Society of Marketing Science. The paper, "Fast Polyhedral Adaptive Conjoint Estimation," Marketing Science, 22, 3, (Summer), 273-303, 2003. (The winner to be announced in June 2004).

Richard C. Larson was elected President-Elect of INFORMS. Dick will be the third MIT/ORC faculty member to serve as INFORMS President since INFORMS was created in the merger of ORSA and TIMS in 1995. The first INFORMS President was John D. C. Little, who served as President in 1995. Tom Magnanti served as President in 1999.

In addition, Dick was the recipient of the INFORMS President Award for his contributions to the welfare of society.

Last, but not least, Dick was the recipient of the Harold Larnder Prize. The prize is awarded annually to an individual who has achieved international distinction in Operational Research. The prize winner delivers the Harold Larnder Memorial Lecture at the National Conference of the Canadian Operational Research Society.

John Little was elected to the IFORS Operational Research Hall of Fame. The announcement was made during the ORC 50th Anniversary Celebration held on April 24, 2004.

In addition, John's paper, "Models and Managers: the Concept of a Decision Calculus" was selected as one of the Top Ten Most Influential Papers in Management Science by the INFORMS membership for the 50th Anniversary of Management Science, April 29 2004.

Thomas L. Magnanti was recently chosen to be the next President of IFORS. IFORS is an international organization of 44 national societies of Operations Research (including INFORMS) as well as 5 kindred member societies.

Asuman Ozdaglar was the recipient of a GSC Graduate Teaching Award from the MIT School of Engineering, May 2004.

Daniela Pucci de Farias received the Esther and Harold Edgerton Faculty Development Chair.


Amr Farahat received a UPS Fellowship for 2003-2004.

Victor Martinez de Albeniz received Honorable Mention in the George Nicholson Student Paper Competition awarded by INFORMS, 2003. In addition, Victor was a finalist in the MSOM Student Paper Competition, 2003.


Amy Cohn (PhD, 2002) received Honorable Mention for her PhD dissertation from the INFORMS Section on Aviation Applications.

Sanne de Boer (PhD, 2003) received Honorable Mention for his PhD dissertation from the INFORMS Section on Aviation Application. In addition, Sanne received Second Place in the George Nicholson Student Paper Competition awarded by INFORMS.

Bruce L. Golden (PhD, 1976) received the INFORMS Prize for the Teaching of OR/MS Practice.

Edward H. Kaplan (PhD, 1999), David L. Craft (ORC PhD Student), and Lawrence M. Wein were awarded the Koopman Prize from the INFORMS Military Applications Society for their outstanding publication in military operations research for their paper, "Emergency Response to a Smallpox Attack: The Case for Mass Vaccination."

Edward Kaplan (PhD, 1984) was elected as a member of the National Academy of Engineering. Ed was elected "for assessment of needle-exchange programs and for generally bringing engineering perspectives to the design of public health policies."

Ioana Popescu (PhD, 1999) won the first prize in the JFIG (Junior Faculty Interest Group) paper competition.

S. Raghavan (PhD, 1995) won second prize in the JFIG (Junior Faculty Interest Group) paper competition.

MIT home