Advanced Deep Learning

Columbia University - Summer 2022

Class is held Monday and Wednesday 1:00-4:10pm

Tuesday, July 5 - Friday, August 12

Office hours (Monday-Friday)

Lecturer, Iddo Drori

Course Assistant, TBD


First Day of Classes (Tuesday, July 5)

Part I: Foundations

Lecture 1 & 2 (Wednesday, July 6): Introduction, Forward and Backpropagation

Lecture 3 & 4 (Monday, July 11): Optimization, Regularization

Part II: Architectures

Lecture 5 & 6 (Wednesday, July 13): CNNs, RNNs

Lecture 7 & 8 (Monday, July 18): GNNs, Transformers, contrastive learning

Part III: Generative Models

Lecture 9 & 10 (Wednesday, July 20): GANs, VAEs, DDPMs

Part IV: Reinforcement Learning

Lecture 11 & 12 (Monday, July 25): MDPs and Reinforcement Learning

Lecture 13 & 14 (Wednesday, July 27): Deep Reinforcement Learning

Part V: Advanced Topics

Lecture 15 & 16 (Monday, August 1): Language and Vision
Text: OpenAI GPT-3, Meta OPT
Code: OpenAI Codex
Text-to-Image, Autoregressive: DALL-E, CogView, Make-A-Scene, Parti
Text-to-Image, Diffusion: GLIDE, DALL-E 2, Imagen

Lecture 17 & 18 (Wednesday, August 3): Proteomics - DeepMind AlphaFold 2, MTL - Gato

Lecture 19 & 20 (Monday, August 8): Quantum ML

Lecture 21 & 22 (Wednesday, August 10): Quantum DL

Last Day of Classes (Friday, August 12)